Nigeria, Set To Join Polio Free Nations...

 All is now set for Nigeria to join league of polio free Nations globally.

The Minister of Health, Dr. Khaliru Hassan disclosed this while inaugurating a special committee known as National Laboratory Polio Containment Committee in Abuja.

The Minister who was represented by the Executive Director and Chief Executive, National Primary Health Care Development Agency, Dr. Ado Muhammad disclosed that the inauguration of the committee was part of pre-certification conditions for any country with the prospect of polio-free-certification.

The 10 – member committee would serve as a sub - committee of the National Certification Committee for Polio Eradication in Nigeria.

The Minister explained that WHO’s recommendations require all Countries at the verge of polio eradication and certification to inaugurate such a committee.

Dr. Khaliru highlighted Nigeria’s efforts at eradicating polio in Nigeria including the establishment of the National Polio Emergency Operations Centres at both National and State levels.

Nigeria, the Minister disclosed, had not recorded any case of Wild Polio Virus since mid last year indicating the final phase of polio eradication in the Country.

Responding on behalf of the committee, the Chairperson, Polio National Certification Committee, Professor Folasade Akinkugbe pledged the dedication and commitment of its members.

While thanking the Minister for initiating the committee, Professor Akinkugbe described the committee’s responsibility as very tremendous.

She however expressed confidence in the ability of the members to deliver.

In a short remark, the WHO Country Representatives, Dr. Rui Vas expressed great excitement at Nigeria’s remarkable progress on polio eradication.

Dr. Vas contended that going by Nigeria’s swift eradication of Ebola outbreak, he had no doubt that the Country could similarly eradicate poliomyelitis.

Members of the committee are Dr. M. K. Dallatu, Chairperson of the National Laboratory Containment Committee, Dr. O. M. Kolawole, Abdullahi Sani Fana, Professor G. O. Oyeyinka, Professor Bayo Parakoji, Dr. Johnson Adekunle Adeniji, Hosea Julius Oladapo while the North East Zonal Coordinator of National Primary Health Care Development Agency, Dr. Usman Adamu would serve as Secretary.

The committee is expected to commence containment activities for all potential wild polio virus infections materials.




Latest Tweets

Latest Videos